Matt Renshaw details into his toilet break during the Pune Test against India

The India vs Australia Test series of 2017 was one of the tightly fought encounters in recent cricket history and the 2-1 result in favour of hosts India was probably the best it could have been. The whole series started off with a bang in Pune, as the visitors pummeled the hosts on a turning pitch at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, as the home team’s strategy of making a turner backfired spectacularly.

The first Test saw Steve O’Keefe pick 6 wickets apiece in both innings and skipper Steve Smith scoring one of the best hundreds scored on a pitch that was turning square from day one. Smith had scored 109 runs in the second innings when the next best score was 31. Australia scored 260 and 285 in their two innings, with Matt Renshaw and Mitchell Starc scoring half-centuries in the first innings. Australia won the Test by 333 runs as India was bowled out for 105 & 107.


Matt Renshaw’s troubling stomach and an unavoidable toilet break

During the first innings of the match, Australia had got off to a good start as David Warner and Matt Renshaw added 82 runs for the first wicket. Renshaw was playing amazingly well against the likes of Ravi Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja. 15 minutes before lunch, Warner was clean bowled by Umesh Yadav for 38 runs and then Renshaw heard some rumbling in his stomach.

“It sort of came on really quickly. And then about five minutes later I am standing there a bit more uncomfortable (and think) ‘is this another fart or is this something a bit more serious?’ And then it sort of started coming on very quickly and I asked ‘how long till lunch?’ and he (Kettleborough) was ‘like 15 minutes,'” Renshaw was quoted as saying on The Final Word podcast on

He knew something was amiss, and that he needed to go to the toilet or else he would have soiled himself on the ground. “The 12th’s come on and I am like ‘I need to go to the toilet. I am going to shit myself on the field or just get to a toilet, so I’ve asked the umpire if I could retire hurt, go to the toilet and come back at some point later. He said I could retire hurt, so I have just bolted and Smithy (Steve Smith) is on his way out to bat and is already confused about why I am running and he is like ‘no come back with me’,” Smith further said.

Also read- Peter Fulton to replace Craig McMillan as New Zealand’s batting coach after World Cup

Captain Smith was coming in next and he stopped Renshaw in his run to the dressing room and both had a discussion with the umpire before Renshaw was off the field. The left-hander copped a lot of flak from many including former Australia skipper Allan Border, who felt the opener should have toughed it out.

To Top