Over 19L voters to decide fate of 123 candidates in erstwhile Adilabad

Collector D Divya overseeing the distribution of poll material in Adilabad on Thursday

Adilabad: The stage is set for the elections in erstwhile Adilabad district. As many as 19,25,742 electors will exercise their franchise in 10 constituencies in four districts of the erstwhile Adilabad on Friday. A total of 123 candidates belonging to various parties are in the fray.

District authorities of Adilabad, Mancherial, Nirmal and Kumram Bheem Asifabad district handed over the poll material, electronic voting machines and Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail to the staffers at headquarters of Adilabad, Boath, Asifabad, Sirpur (T), Bellampalli, Mancherial, Chennur, Khanapur, Mudhole and Nirmal Assembly constituencies. Basic amenities were also created at all poll stations.

According to the info provided by authorities concerned, 520 polling stations were set up in Adilabad district, while Nirmal had the highest number of booths with 757. A total of 698 stations were set up in Mancherial and 532 in Kumram Bheem Asifabad district. Special security measures were taken for the smooth conduct of the polls in critical and left-wing-affected stations.

Very high-frequency sets were given to polling staff working in the inhabitations where there was no mobile network. Digital surveillance would be tapped for ensuring transparency and preventing wrongdoings in the polling process. Besides CCTV cameras, tablets and laptops would be used for recording the poll process.

As many as 177 nominations were received in all the constituencies and 44 were rejected due to various reasons. Fourteen nominees withdrew their papers. As a result, 123 candidates are in the final battle. Over 50 per cent of them are independents and are contesting from not-so-popular parties. The remaining nominees are being fielded by the TRS, the Congress and the BJP.

Some of the prominent candidates include Jogu Ramanna, Allola Indrakaran Reddy, Aleti Maheshwar Reddy, Ramesh Rathod, Gunda Mallesh, Nadipelli Diwakar Rao, K Premsagar Rao, Athram Sakku, Balka Suman, Payal Shankar, Koneru Konappa, Durgam Chinnaiah, Soyam Bapu Rao, G Vittal Reddy and A Rekha Naik.

To Top